The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Lucky Stars Diapers Hybrid Fitted Review

Leave a comment

Lucky Stars Diapers are made by an awesome WAHM named Ashley!  Who is Ashley you might ask?  She is a babywearing, cloth diapering, breast feeding, co-sleeping mama who has a passion for making diapers.  I asked Ashley to write a quick bio, so you can learn a little about her.

LuckyStar

My name is Ashley and I am a mommy of one beautiful little girl, Raina with my wonderful partner in crime, Tony.  She’s almost 17 months and is the light of my life and the inspiration behind Lucky Stars Diapers!  When I got pregnant I wanted to do everything I could to stay natural and healthy.  I learned about cloth diapers and knew there was just some way I could make my own diapers, since the ones I were using just weren’t my taste, not cute enough, not soft enough, didn’t fit right!  I had to do something.  So I took the skills I had learned from my mother, scoured the internet for resources, and found the amazingness that consisted of fitted diapers!  It’s been a long year since I started sewing for practice.  I’ve been in school for the majority of that time, I needed to accomplish getting a degree of some sort before I dedicated anything to a business.  So I finished that and here I am, pursuing my dreams of being my own boss!  I love sewing diapers and I love seeing my diapers on cute little babies, it makes my heart soar through the stars!  Thank you for your support, it helps me stay home with this beautiful child.

 

Ashley sent me a tester in the mail of her hybrid fitted to try out on Everett.  I was so excited I didn’t even wash it first (you should wash all new diapers before wearing, but I was too excited)!  Anyways, my first impression was that she had really cute packaging.  It makes me happy to receive pretty mail!

DSC_8693 DSC_8694

After I ripped it out of the bag with my bare teeth, I couldn’t get over the luscious feel of the materials.  This baby is soft.  I mean, if I had to pick a diaper to wear myself this would be it (note to self: keep for nursing home days).  The outer is a cotton knit with adorable purple sheep.  The inside (part next to baby’s skin) is made of organic cotton velour.  It’s lush people!  Hybrid fitteds have a hidden layer of poly fleece that does a pretty good job of keeping the pee from leaking to the outside.  It’s not waterproof, but very water resistant.  It comes with 3 inserts, each is made of  super heavy organic fleece and the top insert also has cotton velour.

DSC_8728 DSC_8726

DSC_8697 DSC_8699 DSC_8701

It is a bit bulky when you have all three inserts in.  For daytime use I recommend just two of them, to reduce bulk.  For night use, I recommend all three.  The inserts lay in instead of snap, but I’m sure Ashley could customize that for you.  We don’t have any problems with our inserts moving around.

Everett slept in this diaper all night without a cover.  With fitteds you are suppose to use a cover because they are not waterproof.  Since I was doing a review I thought I’d test it at night without one.  By the way your baby can wear their fitteds without covers (we do around the house), most people put a cover on when leaving the house and at bedtime…just in case.  Everett slept 12 hours in this diaper and had NO leaks by the morning.  You cloth diapering mamas out there know what a big deal this is.  We usually have nighttime leaks if he sleeps the whole night.  I was super impressed this morning. 🙂

DSC_8735

Another super cool feature of this diaper is the fold down rise.  If you have a smaller baby, or a skinny one, you just fold the front down and snap away!  Ashley says her diapers are one size and fit a baby from 15lbs- 35lbs.  She is in the process of making a newborn size diaper, so be on the look out for that.

DSC_8725

Here is what the diaper looks like with a cover over it.  If you decide to leave the house, you might want to put a PUL cover over your fitteds.  For bulky fitteds and prefolds we love our Rumparooz and Best Bottoms covers.  As you can see the cover fits perfectly over my Lucky Star Diaper.

So, the big question you are probably wondering is why fitteds?  Well, I’ve been cloth diapering for a year now and just really started to get into fitteds.  I’ll make a short list of why I love them.

  1. cute customizable prints (if you buy from a WAHM).
  2. super absorbent so awesome for nighttime use (Alva’s and other cheap pockets, leak at night time).
  3. when you buy fitteds, you are getting the softest most comfortable material for your baby’s bum.
  4. you can adjust the absorbency by adding more inserts.
  5. I love to support WAHM’s, so they can stay at home and take care of their littles, while helping to bring income to their families.
  6. made in the U.S.A.

 

I won’t lie.  Hybrid fitteds are more expensive then what you will get from the major diaper suppliers.  They are made by moms for moms, so they usually fit baby really well.  Who knows what will fit babies better than moms?  Most moms work on their patterns for years and tweak them to get it just right before they start selling to the public.  They usually use them on their own kids so they know what works.

If I had the money I would switch my whole stash for fitteds and a couple of covers.  Yes, I love them that much!  Remember, Everett didn’t leak after 12 hours!  That is unheard of for us!

Because Ashley is so awesome, she is giving a special discount to our readers.  She is offering a 10% discount on her hybrid fitteds, just for you!  Here is the link to her hyena cart, and you can enter the code LUCKYBABY to get your discount.  Also, look up her facebook page Lucky Star Diapers to see her new prints as they become available.   Make sure to like her page, because once she hits 100 likes she is having a super awesome giveaway!  It includes a OS diaper, a pair of nursing pads, a couple of cloth wipes.  Not only does she offer diapers, but she sells wet bags, mama cloth, woolies, wool dryer balls, and other neat stuff.  Ashley will make custom orders, so if there is something you are looking for, feel free to contact her through her facebook page!

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

