The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Doing the No Poo Thing Again

Leave a comment

I think last time I tried it for two weeks, and quit.  I’m sure you’ve seen all the blog posts about people giving up shampoo and traditional conditioner and using baking soda and Apple Cider vinegar.  If not, it really is just to give your hair a break from all the chemicals we put in it and to let your hair become shiny with your natural oils again.

I have dry curly hair.  Lately it’s been doing some crazy mess.  I contribute it to Everett, chewing, pulling, and spitting up on it.  My hair is having a hard time.  It’s impossible to keep him out of my hair when he’s on my back most of the day or using it to pull himself up to standing position the rest of the day.  I’ve threatened to “go pixie” multiple times, but I really want to let it grow out.

In comes, no poo.  I haven’t been happy with any of the sulfate, paraben free shampoos I’ve been using, so I thought I’d give it a go again.  The best blog that I’ve seen for curly hair is this: small bird studios.  Here is the post with the actual directions and measurements.  I think last time I used too much baking soda and not enough ACV.  Also, I really want to curl my hair without it looking frizzy and without applying heat.  So this is what I did after I showered.

definitely going to try this!

 

I also added my favorite essential oils to the ACV and water.  When I got out of the shower I dried my hair with Jeff’s t-shirt.  The only thing I put on my hair was Argan oil.  Then I put it up in this headband thing.  Later in the day it was drying slowly, so I blow dried it on low for just a couple of minutes while it was still in the headband.  It started looking frizzy, so I took it down, put more Argan oil and then put it back up in the headband.  After I took a nap I let it all down and it was completely dry and really curly.  Here is a picture of it the next day:

IMG_20140416_180727348

My hair has never looked this good curled, not even with heat.  It’s always super frizzy, so I was shocked.  Again, I know I’ve only done this one day.  It has been about 3 days and I haven’t washed it again.  It’s still not frizzy or oily.  Here is what it looks like today:

IMG_20140417_122727562_HDR IMG_20140417_122713467

 

Also, I must mention that last time I did this, even after the first shampoo, my hair looked oily.  I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been sulfate free for a few years now or what, but after I shampooed with the baking soda (I didn’t put it on my ends), and conditioned with the ACV (I didn’t put it on my roots), my hair looked SO clean!  No oil.  I’ve only washed it once, so I don’t know if I’ll go through a grunge period like last time or not.  Maybe I’ll stick with it and blog about it….but then again…I’m pretty lazy.  Oh, and the two kids thing.

 

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

