The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

She’s So Vain

1 Comment

but she has every reason to be because she looks SO good!  I’m not talking about anyone you know.  No one has even met her yet, because Jeff just installed her into our bath yesterday. 🙂  Let me give you a throw back to the first day we saw our 40’s bathroom, so  you can have a little clue of who/what I’m talking about.

smbathNot very impressive, eh?  Well over the holidays my hubby and his father were able to replace all of our plumbing!  Yes, so excited to have PEX instead of old copper supply lines.  There all nice and insulated and shouldn’t bust in cold snaps.  Our toilet now fills up in a minute instead of 30!  It’s not a glamorous thing to blog about nor is it something I can show you with pictures, but I guarantee the value of our house just went up!  Not to mention, newer is better when it comes to plumbing and electrical.

With all the plumbing updated we decided it was time to take down our gorgeous bowl sticking out of the wall with a more pleasing to they eyes and storage abundant solution.

Vanity 116 Vanity 120 Vanity 121 Vanity 122 Vanity 127 Vanity 128Vanity 129 Vanity 130Oh, so much better!  I have no idea how to decorate a bathroom.  I just pulled stuff in from other rooms.  I hung the pictures of Elijah (from  his first bath here) the same week he came to our home.  I wanted him to know this was a permanent move, so I immediately hung pictures of him and him with us.  I want to add more pictures, but I’m not sure if I should do ones of Jeff and me when we were three taking a bath (if we can round those up), of Everett now, or wait until he is three?  Also, I don’t know if the space above the toilet should get some art, shelving, crates, or if it’s fine.  Jeff says crates will make him feel boxed in…lol.  I would like some color/patterns in here, but not sure how to go about it.  Any help would be appreciated…bathrooms aren’t really my thing!

Vanity 133Another thing, there’s a washing machine in my bath.  Apparently back in the 40’s they still washed their clothes by hand and hung them to dry.  It’s one of the next things on the list to install a drain in our mudroom to make it a laundry room too.  Ignore it.  Please.  Now draw your eyes to the window.  We obviously have bamboo up.  There is a lot of tan/brown in this room.  I like the bamboo, but I, again, believe I need some color.  Do you think I should make some kind of window covering to go over or in place of the bamboo?  Ideas?  I’ve seen DIY fabric roman shades and thought of those for some color in this space….

Besides having a beautiful sink and a place for Jeff to shave and me to do my makeup at the same time, another wonderful thing about a sink vs. a vanity is:

STORAGE!

Vanity 139 Vanity 138 Vanity 137 Vanity 134I cannot believe I have a place for ALL of my fingernail polish!  Off topic, I should have staged these pictures.  Those towels look awful not pulled to the front….sorry guys.  It’s bothering me…now I’ve got to go adjust those.

Okay, lets talk tile.  The tile in here drove me nuts.  I can’t stand it, but was very thankful it wasn’t pink.  Do you know there are a whole cult of people who get very ticked if you demolish the old pink bathrooms?  You should google that, not now, but later. 🙂  Anyways, the tile.  I’m not a fan.  There are so many things to fix in an old house, tile is the last of our concerns, but a bathroom is a place you have to see everyday and I want it to be a happy place with some character.  All I can see is beige.  We thought about tearing it down and putting up beadboard, but that’s a ton of work and money.  Next we researched painting/refinishing it…it’s almost as cheap to replace than to refinish THIS much tile.  It is everywhere.  Then, if you mess with the tile on the wall, you have to replace the floor tile.  Strangely enough, after we put the vanity in it didn’t bother me anymore.  So, all the tile is staying for now, and I’m so happy, because the vanity is the star and I barely notice the tile. 🙂

Have you ever tore down tile?  What did you replace it with?  Have you ever painted tile? Is it hard?

 

 

 

 

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

One thought on “She’s So Vain

  1. W-O-W!!!! what a difference!! Really Nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

