The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

The Most Beautiful

Leave a comment

Soul I know will be passing on to eternity in a few short hours or days.  Family has been called in across the states to be by this precious lady’s side.  I can’t imagine life on this earth without her.  She has been my rock, my comforter, my refuge for 27 years.  My whole body aches.  It’s pure selfishness, I know.  I’m scared of what the world will be without her.  My Maw-Maw.

I cannot think of one negative trait.  This Godly lady has been a shining example to her family and friends for her short 86 years.  I just got off the phone with her.  She cannot talk but she can listen.  She has always been an amazing listener.  Maw-Maw always had an ear to hear and a shoulder to cry on, especially for her grandbabies.  Oh! her grandbabies, and her great grandbabies!  If you knew my Maw-Maw you knew you weren’t getting off the phone with her until she told you about the latest addition to the family or the latest grand to visit her.  Speaking of great grandbabies, Maw-Maw had 6 new ones this year!  My cousin Molly adopted  3 year old and 6 year old siblings, my sister had a baby girl, my cousin had a baby boy just a few days ago, and then we got two precious boys!  I know she is so happy about all the babies in the family.  Her walls are plastered with pictures of all her babies, and she never takes any of them down!

Let me tell you a little about my Maw-Maw’s house.  Her house was the place to go if you wanted a nap.  Or good cooking.  Or your finger-nails did.  🙂  Maw-Maw cooked meals for her visitors up until a few weeks ago.  She was always trying to feed ya!  She loved to make people full and happy, so they could lay down and take a nap.  I practically grew up with my cousins running around in her yard, climbing her crepe myrtle tree.  We always went to church together on Sunday.  You better believe if she couldn’t hear you singing, you’d get pinched!  But Oh! was she always so warm.  My favorite spot to sit was right up next to her (even if it meant I might get pinched lol) because she was so cuddly and warm all the time.   I don’t know one person that could escape from falling in love with my Maw-Maw.  She even had the orderlies flirting with her when she stayed in the hospital the last two months!  She was so cute telling me how the guy helping her around was a Ray, so they decided they were related and he called her “Mama Ray.”

One of the greatest blessings was when we had the opportunity 3 weeks ago to go down to Florida to visit with her for a few hours.  She got to meet our boys!  I even convinced her to let us take a picture!  After she had mouth cancer she lost the ability to wear false teeth.  She hated having her picture taken, but never made much of a fuss.  I am SO proud to have a picture of our boys with their GREAT-grandmother.  Elijah still prays every night that she is not in any pain.  We will keep praying this prayer until the angels take her home.

Maw-maw, don’t kill me for posting these pictures.  We love you!

Beach Vacation 2013 723

Maw looking at Everett.

Beach Vacation 2013 724

Beach Vacation 2013 726

The best place to take a nap, ask Elijah!Beach Vacation 2013 729 Beach Vacation 2013 730 Beach Vacation 2013 733

Sorry, baby Everett.cousins01

All the girl cousins on Maw-Maws couch.
DSC_0080 DSC_0086 DSC_0109

Josiah when he was a baby with MawMaw’s curlers!DSC_0125 DSC_0128 DSC_0150 family26 IMG_6307

When we were newly weds!IMG_6309 IMG_6310 Photo0078 Photo0079All dolled up for church with her red nails and jacket.  This was 2 years ago.

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

