The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Meh News and Great News.

13 Comments

So, I know a lot of you have been wondering what we have found out.  As with most things with state adoptions/fostering it is very slow going to find out any information.  I found out that the court date was yesterday, only because I called.   And then I’ve been calling all day to find out what is going on.  The response I finally received was, nothing has changed (whatever that means.)  Apparently they still have to try to find relatives, the judge has to see that they made reasonable efforts to find someone blood related to our child.  Ahhhh….Ugghhhh…Whatever.  I was informed that they are allowed to terminate rights now after only 12 months.

So strange it was today when I did receive a call that Big Brother E is ready to be adopted!!!  I believe all those prayers for our family helped.  We were so worried it would be next year before we’d hear anything.  I’m such a worrier and I get it honest, it’s in my blood.  That has to be the hardest/strangest/most stressful part.  Waiting.  Waiting.  And more waiting.  Not knowing if these kids, that you are giving your heart and soul to everyday, will be yours.  It’s like you are sitting on the edge of your seat bouncing up and down for months waiting to find out if you can stand up in your seat or if you’re going to fall off.

I wanted to share with you Elijah’s middle name we picked out.  I feel comfortable sharing his name, now that he is ours.  I mean there is more paperwork and an adoption homestudy/interview that we will do next week, plus more waiting,  🙂  but we are it.  We are his family.  We don’t have to fight anyone else anymore.  We are soooo happy!  Our first son.  Anyways we picked the name Embry for his middle name.  We had a strong, faithful, Christian friend whose last name was Embry.  He was taken at a early age from this life, but he did so much for the Lord.  He served as an elder in the Lord’s church at the first congregation Jeff and I ever worked with.  We went through 100’s of names and Embry is the one we both agreed was it.  We knew immediately.  The perfect fit.  I know ya’ll must think we are obsessed with the letter E.  I’ve always said I wouldn’t name all my kids the same letter (I’m the oldest of 4 M’s), but sometimes names just come to you and you know that’s who your kid is.  Who knows maybe in the future we will have a little girl E, or W, or C….

Once we find out about how long it will take for us to get our court date to make everything final for Elijah, we will throw him a big ‘ole party!  A huge adoption party!  It will be great.  I’m so excited for him and for us.

….I gotta start planning….

Elijah Embry.  That’s our boy!

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

13 thoughts on “Meh News and Great News.

  1. OMG!!! GOD is good 🙂 Im sooooooooooooooo happy for you two! CONGRATS on your first son! and I love his middle name. Perfect! 🙂 …love you!

  2. The Lord is faithful! I couldn’t be happier with His choice of parents for Elijah. There are many strong points toward getting Everett as well; you have a blood sibling, you are his foster parents (first non relative choice) and he has several siblings in custody of others showing a long history of inability to parent. Remember that a blood relative will always take precedence but they have to clear DHR as well. Rest in the fact that Jesus is in authority and continue to parent both boys as if they were your own. He asks us to care for them while they are in our arms, that is temporary, even with biological children. Bless you, Kathie

  3. Do you know that you can go to court? You can participate in anything that pertains to that child. You are supposed to be notified of court dates and you can attend if you wish. Most people don’t so it often gets forgotten. Finding babysitters is hard but it might be that you get information quicker because you’re there. Just a thought. Ask his caseworker if you want to attend so she’ll make an extra effort to notify you. Also, you can talk to the baby’s lawyer anytime. We’ve made appts with the GAL before because we didn’t feel like the GAL was doing their job of fighting for the child’s rights.

    • Everett and Elijah have the same caseworker, and we were not notified of court or given the option to go. It would be difficult to find a sitter at the time of day, but not impossible. I was told by a friend that it’s our right to be notified in writing of the court date…we never have been. We still need to find out his lawyer. I asked the caseworker if anyone would be representing him or there on his behalf (Everett’s) and she said no…she wasn’t even there!

  4. I am so happy for you!! I love you and have been praying for you! I will continue to pray!! ❤

  5. Oh, I am excited with you both or should I say all 3 of you and with time, prayers, and blessings, all 4 of you. You both have a very special place in my heart, a place where I can go back in mind and smile!

  6. How exciting!!! God is good, all the time!!! Congratulations! Oh, and I love his name! Elijah Embry (: Beautiful!

  7. I am soooooo happy for you!!!! You deserve this happiness and this boy is blessed to have y’all! I love u and I’m praying for u!!

Leave a Reply

