The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

3 Weeks

Leave a comment

William Everett was 3 weeks old yesterday.  He weighed 8lbs and 8oz at his doctor’s visit!  That is a whole pound more than last visit!  Everyday I’m more amazed at how much he changes.  Though I’m anxious to see him grow and change, it makes me sad that he won’t be little bitty forever.   I never thought Jeff and I would get/have a newborn baby.  It is so different from the other ages we’ve had.  We are just like any other family who might have given birth to a newborn.  We experience the sleepless nights, the gassy/colic fits, we even got to change the meconium diapers and got to wait for his umbilical cord to fall off.   I can’t for the life of me get this baby to sleep anywhere but on my chest.  I can’t complain though, because of anywhere I would want him to sleep it is there.  For soon he will be a rough and tumble, too cool for his mom little boy, and those cuddles will probably be few and far in between.

Here are some cute little things about Everett.

Eyes:   It is incredible to see how much they have changed.  I guess I haven’t ever stared at a newborn’s eyes day after day before now.  At first his looked like they were glazed over, like he couldn’t focus on anything.  When he would open his eyes he would stare above me, towards the light.  I think it was Saturday that his eyes locked onto mine for the first time…it was incredible!!!  I almost started to cry..well, I might have shed a tear or two of joy.   It was like, “Hi mom, I’ve found your face!”  Now he stares at me a lot…mostly when I’m feeding him.  Right now his eyes are a really dark gray with a lighter silver color around the pupil (we say he has Host eyes.)

Lips: Everett does the cutest thing in the world with his lips.  I’m sure it’s a common thing among babies, but first time mom to a newborn here, so it’s super cute to me.  After I pull the bottle out of his mouth he purses up his lips and moves them in a fishy manner.  It’s so funny.

Nicknames:  Bean Bundle (for when he’s swaddled), Stinky Pants (all day every day), my Little Papoose (when his in his wrap), Sweet Cheeks, Bubbie, and I’m sure there are other things we call him on a daily bases.

Things people say when we are out: “I love his name.” “Wow, you don’t look like you’ve had two kids!”  “You had a baby 3 weeks ago???”

Last night he slept better than the previous nights.  He has had a stuffy nose and it makes him so angry.  He usually is up from 3am to 7am.  I don’t know how many times he woke last night…maybe two or three, all I know is he didn’t wake until 6:30 and I was SO happy.  Also, we took a two hour nap today and it was INCREDIBLE!  For once I feel well rested, crossing my fingers about tonight!

I think we all could work on treasuring each second we have with our little ones.  I know it is so easy to get caught up in this face-paced digital age.  I know it’s rough when you haven’t had any sleep and the laundry is piling up on the couch, and there are bottles that need to be washed before the next feeding.  But in reality, none of that matters.  All that matters are the seconds we have with our children.  We will never get to experience those exact moments again.  Yesterday is already a memory.

And a post isn’t complete without some pictures of our cuties.  The day after M left we decided to take the boys to the zoo.  I will attach some of those images.  By the way, E still prays for M each night.

What I did to receive such a blessing in my life, I’ll never know.

Day at the Zoo 061 Day at the Zoo 064 Day at the Zoo 070 Day at the Zoo 074 Day at the Zoo 086 Day at the Zoo 099 Day at the Zoo 110 Day at the Zoo 123 Day at the Zoo 161 Day at the Zoo 166 Day at the Zoo 180 Day at the Zoo 186 Day at the Zoo 198

We love Uncle Ti and Aunt Amanda!  (E cannot pronounce Malachi for anything!)

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

