The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

3 Weeks of E

3 Comments

Today E’s social worker came by.  It was her second visit since E has been with us.  She is required to do a visit in our home after a week and then once a month just to see how he is doing in his new home.  Today’s visit went much better than the first.  He wasn’t bad at all at the first one, he just didn’t want her to leave.  After she left he kept asking for her and whining.  He also told me the next day that she told him this was his new home.

Today’s visit went very well.  I told him she was coming about 10 minutes before she arrived.  I explained to him that she was just coming to visit with him and not going to take him anywhere.  He was going to stay at his home with Mommy.  He asked for her for the first five minutes and ran to the door to see if she was here yet.  I got him to sit down and eat some supper.  When she arrived he was excited and talked a lot, told her to come to his room, etc.  He only interrupted us two or three times.  Mostly he just played in the floor with his Mr. Potato Head toy.  When she went to get her keys he started saying bye (didn’t even look up).  She was shocked because he used to cry when she would say bye.  After she left, that was it…he didn’t mention her again.

I think this is a big step for him.  Apparently children who have been in foster care for a while with the same worker get attached, because they become something familiar to them.  I was really proud of him.

He asks about his last family less and less.  He seems very happy.  We took him to camp this week.  I brought him home after one night.  He didn’t sleep a wink with all the kids in and out, going to bed so late, waking up so early…it was too much for him.  We went back for a day, so he could play.  He LOVES camp, just not sleeping at camp.  I found out that he really likes baseball and football.  He is a daredevil and jumps into water with no fear.  He doesn’t know how to hold his nose or close his mouth!  He scares me to death!  We are definitely going to have to work on that.  At one point during camp, some adults were sitting in chairs in a circle and E went around to all of us and hugged and kissed us!  Boys, girls, men, women, no one was getting skipped when it came to E’s lovin’.  It was so sweet.  He loves everyone he meets and usually will greet them with a hug.

E finished his summer reading program at the local library.  They gave him a shirt and a free happy meal for reading 12 books this summer…well, in 2 weeks!  He was really proud.  They are having a pizza/icecream/face painting party tomorrow.  We are super excited about that.

As far as sleeping at home goes, he is doing awesome.  We have a bedtime routine.  After we tuck him in and kiss him he never cries and sleeps through the night until 8am.  He still takes naps, so that’s pretty awesome for mommy.

It’s a blast having a three year old.  He keeps us so busy.  He soaks everything up.  Discipline is difficult.  For example, if I say don’t splash in that water, he will splash in it at least one more time…if not three.  If he was my birth child or adopted child I would pop his little legs.  Since he’s not, all I can do is time out or take away privileges.  That gets frustrating.  He does have a tender heart and is really upset if we get upset, but he still pushes buttons everyday.  He also gets this sassy, “OKay, Mom!” attitude.  It’s easy to envision him as a teenager when he does that.  It totally reminds me of myself at 13.  Ughhh!

Other crazy news…on Tuesday I had what the doctor thought was a cyst burst.  I’m not going to go into details, but I am curious if any of ya’ll have had that happen.  I would really love to talk to someone.  It was pretty scary and painful.  We have a lot of amazing friends and neighbors that rushed to my aide.  I have no idea how I would have gotten through it without them, and my hubby who took awesome care of me and E.  I feel so blessed.  When you go through something so painful, it makes you grateful to be alive and well through the other days.  I thank my God for pain-free days and for my health.

Fertility-wise, it means I will be back to the doctor soon and will probably have surgery sometime this year.  Please keep us in your prayers.

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

3 thoughts on “3 Weeks of E

  1. Oh, bless your heart with the cyst!! I too had several that burst when I was younger. When having a pelvic exam to confirm my pain was one of the most painful events in my life. In an attempt to explain the pain to my husband I equated my ovaries to his testicles being mashed on. I got sweaty, thought I was going to throw up, could barely walk standing straight and stayed in pain the rest of the day. I think that has got to be similar. I can certainly identify with what you went through. ((hugs))

  2. Praying for you sweet girl! I am so happy for you, Jeff and “E”! Sounds like things are going great! I agree with what Kelli just said about the cyst. It makes you feel so very sick! Been there and done that! I finally had a partial hysterectomy a couple of years ago to take care of all of my issues. Things are wonderful now! Love you, miss you and praying for you!! ❤

  3. Thank you Mrs. Kitty! I’m glad to know I’m not alone…I just wish I had more information beforehand, so I would have known what my body was doing! We really miss you and your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

