The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

DIY Hemp Fleece Inserts and Knitted Wool Cover

Leave a comment

I wanted to share with ya’ll some of the things I have made to build up my cloth diapering stash.  We started pricing everything we would need to cloth diaper a child from birth to potty-trained, and it really added up!  I fell in love with some cute covers I found on Amazon, but they were $12 a piece.  You would probably need about 5 or so covers per child.  Most covers come in two sizes.  Size One (6lbs to 18lbs) or Size Two (18lbs to 40lbs)…if you have a preemie or tiny newborn…the size one’s will probably be too big.  The cover is usually made of PUL (a waterproof material), velcro or snaps.  You can also make wool covers out of old sweaters (make sure they are 70% wool), out of fleece blankets, or you can knit them yourself!

Here is my first knitted cover.  It is for a newborn.  They are also called shorties.

Diapering 015 Diapering 012Now I am working on making a bigger pair in a cream/tan color.  I really hope to start making a lot of these and sell them on facebook or etsy, to help make some income for our family.  These are not felted yet.  If you felt your knitted shorts it binds all the fibers together, to keep more of the leaks in…so they’re not leaks!  I will post pictures after I felt them, so you can see the difference.

I have also made inserts that go into the actual diaper (fitteds).  You can buy three Hemp Fleece inserts on Amazon for $15…I thought that was extremely high, so I just bought the same material and made them myself.  If you are making medium sized inserts you will get 15, 3 layered inserts out of one yard.  Here is the hemp fleece I used.  I was VERY happy with the quality.  The hemp doesn’t unravel at all.  It is extremely soft.  If I had the money I’d buy a lot more of it and make whole diapers from it.

My pattern for the inserts is here.  Just scroll down and click the pdf pattern.  All inserts are is pieces of rectangle fabric sewed together.  I cut 3 layers of the fleece, layered them fuzzy side out, and zigzag stitched around.  The pattern has a small size and a large…I adapted mine to a medium.  Just check your fitted and see what length and width you need your insert to be and then adjust the pattern!

Next, I will show you how I make PUL covers and the fitteds.  If you are lost in the DIY cloth diapering experience, I will make it much more clear next time…where you can see all the pieces together.

Diapering 005 Diapering 001Large, Medium, Smalls.

The large was too long for my fitteds that I had made, and the smalls were too small for a baby past 18lbs, so I made mostly mediums.

Cloth diapering 011This is the fitted diaper that I made (tutorial to come), the fleece inserts will go inside the pocket of this fitted…since it is not all waterproof you will need a PUL, wool, or fleece cover.  You might be wondering, why not make your fitted diaper thicker instead of making an insert and a pocket.  My main reason is that you can separate the insert from the diaper so it’s not all so thick.  This helps with drying time.  Also, the inserts will be used mostly at night for heavy wetting.

If you have made cloth diapers before and have any tips or suggestions, I’d love to chat!

Now, to leave you with a picture of our precious Little Bit napping! 🙂

Diapering 011-3

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

