The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Turning Store-bought Curtains into Something More

Leave a comment

Have you ever bought curtains at the store, only to bring them home and discover they fall a’ bit short of your expectations? Literally?  Well, it has happened to me a time or two.  I don’t know if the curtain makers think it’s the style to have your windows wearing high-waters or what…but it’s not very becoming in my opinion.

I bought two panels (80 inch?) from Hudson’s Dirt Cheap for $5.  They are almost the same color as my living room walls. Wedgewood Gray, so I thought they might look nice in the dining room and kinda tie those two rooms together.  Obviously they were too short.  We kept them up there until I took a trip to Ikea and found some super long white curtains for $10 total.  When I got them out of the package they were super thin…and not a real soft material.

I like the fact that the first curtains were a nice material with a nice pattern and had a liner.  Only problem with the liner is that the room (which is in the middle of the house) looked VERY dark with them up. *lightbulb moment* Is there a way I can have the light and bright AND the matchy curtains?  A trip to the local fabric store I made.  They have tons of upholstery fabric at reasonable prices.  I happened upon the clearance bin and found an amazing navy textured fabric that I thought would look great with the “short/matchy” curtains.

I also had to shorten the thin Ikea curtains, because they hung 2 extra feet on the ground.  I’m pretty proud of this project, because there were so many obstacles, plus I really stink at sewing…but they turned out great anyways.

Here are your before and afters….no tutorial, because I’m definitely NOT the best person to teach you how to sew. 🙂

updates and halloween party 016

before (no they haven’t been like this since Halloween…I just haven’t had time to blog about them).

dining curtains 013 dining curtains 010 dining curtains 006 dining curtains 005after

There you have it!  Have you had any sewing projects lately?  Has this ever happened to you?  What is your solution?  Do you take them back? Add some fabric?

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

