The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Reality. Bright Future.

Leave a comment

Hi.  Sorry I’ve been ignoring you for so long.  Today is actually the first day I’ve wanted to write in a while.  As some of you may know with adoption there are a lot of ups and downs.  Right now I’m on a down, but slowly coming up for air.  Things always get better.  I can’t share details with you on this one…I’m very sorry.  Just know we covet your prayers.

Meanwhile…over the past two days Jeff and I have been incredibly busy!  He wired our living room with electrical, and installed a light fixture:

electrical. light fixture 012He also wired in the main/entertaining part of the living room, but we are missing a pin for the fan.  Don’t worry, Harbour Breeze is shipping it for free!  Sometimes when you buy $200 fans for $50 at Lowes they are missing some parts.  That’s just how we roll…on a budget.

Oh, some other happy news (which most of ya’ll know now), but just so it’s official on the blog:

Cloth diapering 009There ya go!  We also got cute little business cards to put in our wallet saying we are foster parents.  We have gotten a couple of calls…two of which were way older than our age range (0-3).  The last one…(because of other things we were going through) didn’t seem like a good fit at the time.  But now we are ready and waiting on some more calls.  It took about a week or two to get our first call, which let us know we were on “the list” (just in case you are interested and curious).  From what I understand, whenever you are approved and get this little sheet of paper, you can start getting calls.

Onto other things.

Jeff and I are really starting to think about making our home be a sustainable development.  In the future we plan to build a chicken habitat, a pond, lots of raised garden beds, mini fruit orchard, solar panels, etc.  Right now we found out that our local scrap yard carries food grade 55 gallon barrels.  Jeff is almost through making our composter ..I might see if he wants to make a video explaining all of that to you later.  We are going to have a few rain barrels…so we can water our gardens (which we haven’t made yet), and possibly use it for drinking water.

So, exciting things happening around the Stacy Home.

 

Another thing I am super passionate about is cloth diapering.  I could talk about it for hours.  Did you know that a cloth diapered baby is on average potty-trained 12 months earlier than a baby that wears disposables?  See? 🙂

Most moms know the cloth diaper start up is kinda high (especially on a budget).  It can run from $300-$700, on average.  Which may seem like a lot, but considering that you spend $2000 or more in disposables for 1 child…it doesn’t seem as bad.  We love the fact that all of our children can use the diapers…which can save some mega bucks considering we could have tons of foster children running through here.

I had heard of mom’s making the diapers themselves…but…as I am not a very good seamstress, this frightened me.  A lot of the tutorials I saw recommended using flannel blankets, t-shirts, and random cotton items from your closet.  Since this = free…I thought I’d give it a try.

I will be doing a tutorial on tips and helpful hints I have found easiest (with step by step photos).  I haven’t purchased any Snappis (video below on what they are).  You can opt to use diaper pins, like our moms did or you can purchase 3 Snappies for $10 off Amazon and not have to worry about sharp pins.

 

 

Here is a quick peek of the fitted cloth diaper I made. It is thin, because it is just two flannel blankets sewed together, but I made it with a pocket so I can slip an insert in there for absorption   This fitted diaper also needs a cover (our moms used plastic pants) because it is not waterproof.  Once my PUL and Hemp comes in I will do a tutorial on those and give you my reasons for going the fitted/cover route vs. all in one route.

Cloth diapering 011

 

 

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

