The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

I Finally Made Bread Pudding.

Leave a comment

I am a huge ‘Chopped’ fan.  But I get so angry because just about every episode someone or both of the final two contestants make bread pudding!  It drives me insane, because the judges want something different and original.  I just feel sorry for them because they have to eat so many bread puddings.  Meanwhile, my husband would love to be a judge with all that bread pudding!

I haven’t had many that I like.  Mostly because there are raisins and nuts in them.  Ick!  But after watching so many ‘Chopped’ episodes, I thought “hey, it looks pretty easy”.  And I was right.  I didn’t follow a recipe, but I did look at some recipes to see what actually goes into a bread pudding.  #1 ingredient bread of some sort.  Since I spent all day yesterday making homemade bread, I had plenty of yummy  rolls and a loaf.  My homemade bread is actually whole wheat and I put some flax seed in there for extra healthiness.

Jeff loves Banana’s Foster, so I thought I’d spice his up with some bananas and brown sugar.

This recipe will make two individual servings.

first, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 024thinly slice 1 banana.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 027lay them on a cookie sheet covered in tin foil (i used parchment because i’m out of tin foil).

cover them in cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter or coconut oil.

bake for 10 or so minutes.  you want them soft and the sugar melted.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 031next whisk together:

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup milk

1 tbs vanilla

1tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup of sugar ( i used brown and raw sugar)

birds, bread pudding, for sale 033 birds, bread pudding, for sale 036 birds, bread pudding, for sale 038next chop or tear your bread, rolls, whatever ya got lying around.

fill your ramekin.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 039pour your wet mixture over your bread.  smoosh bread around in the mixture so it’s all wet.

next, get out your bananas.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 044they should look something like this.  now turn your oven down to 350 degrees.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 048i didn’t want bananas in mine, because i don’t like bananas, but for Jeff’s i just smooshed them in there and mixed it all around.  (i’m so technical with my cooking terms).

birds, bread pudding, for sale 049

bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  stick a knife in and if it comes out clean then they are done.  you don’t want them to be browned.

birds, bread pudding, for sale 053 birds, bread pudding, for sale 050 birds, bread pudding, for sale 055top with vanilla ice cream and enjoy with a cup of coffee…and Roy.

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

