The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Chalkboard Painted Kid’s Table and Chairs

Leave a comment

nursery and dogs 006I scored this table and chairs at a yard sale a few years back for $5.  The lady was in her late 40’s and said it was hers when she was a kid.  I always new I wanted to do something funky and fun–shouldn’t kids furniture be fun?

DSC_0008This is what I did with the rocking chair from the same yard sale.  I didn’t want to go quite so crazy with the table and chairs, since this chair is also in the room.

I also wanted to try my hand at making chalk board paint.  I just mixed some powdered tile grout in with my white paint and a little water, then brushed it on the whole table.  I did kinda prime my table and chairs first with a satin white spray paint.  Also, I read that after your chalkboard paint  is completely dry you need to ‘cure it’ by rubbing chalk all over it and letting it sit for 24 hours.  I’m not sure if there is any truth to it, but our table seemed to like it…

Child's table and chairs 004At first I had the chairs painted white too.

jeff 020I thought they needed something else and boy am I glad I repainted them.  I used Valspar Outdoor Spray Paint…I believe it was called Peacock Blue.  I have no other reason to use the outdoor paint then the fact that I loved the color.  It can be used on wood and is durable…sounds just like what is needed in a toddler’s room!

Child's table and chairs 007Here is the quote I decided to write on the table.  It was very difficult for me to express what I wanted to say to our first child.  Do you say “Welcome Home”, “We’ve been waiting our whole lives for you”, “I hope you get to stay…forever”,  “I wish you knew how much we love you already”?  It’s so difficult.  So I got some inspiration from a favorite book: Child's table and chairs 009

As soon as I read it I knew it was just what I was wanting to say!

We love you ‘future babies’.

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

