The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Small, Simple, Christmas Crafts

Leave a comment

I really, really, want to tell you what I made today.  I am just dying to show or tell someone!  I can’t because it’s Jeff’s Christmas present and I can’t risk him seeing or reading this.  I will however, take pics and tell you after Christmas morning…just don’t let me forget.  *hint: it involves British comedy and a Sharpie*

 

I can however, show you what I made a few days ago…

Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 034Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 038

Yep!  Jeffrey’s Christmas stocking is finished!  I LOVE the colors!  They match our decor for the holiday season!  I think he was pretty impressed by his first handmade Christmas stocking!  I’m so happy I learned how.  Now we have matching, but not matchy knitted stockings.  I knitted his in the round, except for the heel gusset, and it was much quicker.  Our stockings took me about two days to knit.

So, the post is about simple Christmas crafts you can make,  let’s get on with it, shall we?  The rest of this post will be stolen ideas from pinterest…that’s okay, we all do it!

 

First.  My homemade tree topper:

Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 005

 

Rating: C-

Supplies needed:

  • paper mache’ letter (Hobby Lobby has these for $2.47)
  • foam paint brush
  • glitter!
  • glue (i used Elmer’s,  mod podge would probably work better)

This project gets a C- rating because it was a pain, I don’t know how you will make a hole in the bottom for all letters, and mine is currently sitting on my tree sideways.  It’s not standing up right because there is so little space inside the letter for the tree top to stick up in.  With all that being said, I still like it.  I LOVE the glitter!  I have three different colored lights on my tree, so I wanted to mimic that effect on my topper.  I hope to fix the crooked problem, but just haven’t had time.

Do you have any other unique tree topper ideas?

Birch Tree Frosted Candles

Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 014Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 010

Rating: B-

Supplies needed:

  • dollar tree candles
  • brown craft paint
  • glue (again Elmers, but something stronger is recommended)
  • epsom salt
  • foam paint brush & small paint brush
  • cookie sheet pan

This was an easy, super quick project.  Paint your candle to resemble a birch tree.  I just painted random stripes/dashes all around my candle.  Let this DRY!  Will it’s drying pour out a generous amount of Epsom salt on your cookie sheet.  After candle is all the way dry brush on your glue with the foam brush.  Roll candle in Epsom salt, and your done.  The only reason I gave this a B- is because my salt isn’t sticking too well.  It’s probably my fault for not using a better glue.  Oh well.

 

Easy Glass Ornaments



Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 023 Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 027 Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 029

Rating: A-

Supplies needed:

  • glass ornaments (Hobby Lobby)
  • beads
  • glitter
  • glue
  • craft paint

The easiest and my favorite is the ornament with beads inside.  I just used beads I had around.  I’d love to buy some fake pearl beads and fill some with those.  For the other ones I just glued, painted, and glittered.

Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 015 Christmas Projects-Jeff's stocking 020

I found this crocheted runner at the thrift store for $.99.  They had it marked as a valance, it could also be a shawl, but it just happened to be the right size for my table.  I placed my homemade ornaments inside these glass tubes which came off some candle wall sconces I haven’t hung yet.

There are so many projects going on here at the Stacy home.  I just haven’t had time to take pics and post everything.  I have serious issue with lack of light.  It’s dark when I get home from work, so it’s very hard to take good pictures.  I try to take most of them on my lunch break.

I hope you try some DIY decorations and presents this year!

 

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

