The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Living in a “Pinterest World”

Leave a comment

Lillies of the Field

Matthew chapter 6 verses 28-34

28 And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:

29 And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

30 Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clotheyou, O ye of little faith?

31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

 

Ahhhh….these words give me comfort and peace, as only God’s Word can do.

Pinterest.  Every woman out there knows what this is and I’m guessing about 90% have a account.  I love me some Pinterest!  It makes my heart happy!  BUT I am finding it makes me less content.  I’m writing this post to myself.  Ya’ll might think I’m crazy, but that’s okay.

I love interior design.  I love nice things.  I can stare for hours at these beautiful images.  HOURS!  It saddens me to think of what else I could be doing with all those countless hours.  Studying my Bible perhaps!  Yet, I’m so drawn to these images.  It’s not that it is bad to be on Pinterest, it’s not bad to look at beautiful rooms.  Pinterest is for other things too.  You can find tips and tricks to make your life easier when you are cleaning your home (God commands us to be homemakers Titus 2:5).  There are tons of recipes that you can cook for your family (also falling under the “keeper of the home” category) .

What I want to talk to you about is not being content.  Actually I’d rather let the Bible speak…

 

Hebrews chapter 13 verse 5

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

 

First Timothy chapter 6 verse 8

And having food and raiment let us be therewith content.

 

And probably the most famous verse on being content was spoken by Paul:

 

Phillipians chapter 4 verse 11

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

 

I LOVE my house.  We’ve put our blood, sweat, and tears into this home (literally).  It’s is starting to reflect our personalities.  BUT when I look at these images I want MORE!  How can I make it look just like these pictures, how do I get all this stuff?  My heart goes pitter patter when I look at the beautiful colors and furnishings.  I LOVE interior design (I know I say LOVE a lot)!  It makes me happy.  Really happy.  BUT I have to be careful.  I have to find contentment.  I have to manage my time wisely.

God has blessed me in so many ways.  I have a nice house, plenty of clothes, and food on the table (just to name some physical blessings).

I just think we should all be careful of Wanting more and more.  Spending more and more.  Working more and more.  Neglecting our families more and more.  God wants us to be content keepers at home.  Let’s not neglect those God given duties!

 

For more information about being a Keeper at Home please read this article!

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

