The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Nursery/ Baby Girl Bedroom Before and Afters

Leave a comment

Hi everyone!  Yes I know it’s been a few weeks.  Just because I haven’t been posting doesn’t mean we have been working our fingers to the bone!  We’ve been incredibly busy over here working most nights until after 12am, or should that be morning… Anyways, we painted the bathroom, but still have some edging to do.  We caulked the bathtub.  We had the ceilings re-texture and the walls patched up in 4 of our rooms and in the hallway.  We just finished painting the nursery last night, I had to wait until this morning to take pictures.  I haven’t moved anything in there yet.  I wanted to give ya’ll a good “before” and “after” with nothing in the room first.  Jeff and I are in LOVE with this room.  The last thing we did last night and the first thing we did this morning when we woke up was go look in there!  🙂  The color is called Barely Teal.  It is a Benjamin Moore paint color that we had mixed in Clark + Kensington paint.  It took exactly one gallon and two coats (no primer).  The paint is supposed to be a primer + paint.  I’m not sure how I feel about it yet.  Our favorite local hardware store stopped carrying BM paint because the price kept going up.  The Clark+Kensington paint was about $33 for a gallon.  Which I feel is still pretty high.  I don’t think it is any better than Olympic, Glidden, or Valspar.  It seemed really thin especially for a primer + paint.  Also, it does have a strong paint odor, but says low VOC.  Anyways, that is my short review on the Clark + Kensington paint….I’d rather have Benjamin Moore, guess with all the painting I’ve been doing I have evidently become a paint snob!

Now on to our super cute baby nursery.  In past posts (if you’ve kept up with us) you know we are working our fastest to get our home in tip-top shape to be approved as foster parents.  It’s impossible to know if you will be given boys, girls, or a mix of the two.  My idea was to create a “girl room” and a “boy room”.  The boy room is larger, because I figured they need more room to wrestle and “horse-play” (did your mom every yell “no horse-playing around in the pool?)  haha, what on earth!?!  Anyways, the boys get the bigger bedroom and the girls get the tiny girly room.  The boy room will be a guest bedroom until we actually get boys and possibly put bunk beds in there.  The girl room will hold our two toddler beds and our bedroom will eventually have a crib (just in case a newborn is placed with us).

The “before” picture of the nursery was taken on the first day we ever saw this house.  I should have taken a new one when I cleaned it out to paint, but I hate taking “before” pictures.  I just want to get on with the good part, ya know?

Okay, now that the “before” is done with, feast your eyes upon this:

I can almost guarantee this old ceiling fixture isn’t staying.  It’s pretty rusty and gross, but at least you can get a good shot of our gorgeous ceilings!  This texture is called brocade.  Also, these windows are horrific and VERY old.  This is what they looked like and what they like to do when it’s colder outside than inside:

 Needless to say they will be replaced when we can scrounge up a few THOUSAND dollars.  We had a quote and it was close to $14,000 to replace all 24 windows in our house!  OH MY STARSSS!

Back to the good stuff!

 Other corner.

Here is a pretty accurate shot of the floor color.  We stained it bombay mahogany, and then topped it off with a shiny polyurethane.

Another shot of the ceiling.  The texture reminds me of icing!  I love it.  We have painted all the ceilings in our house Antique White in Semi-Gloss.  The paint brand is Better Homes by Glidden.  You can get it at Wal-Mart.  We bought 6 cans because it was clearanced down to $9 a gallon from $23.  I didn’t know how I’d feel about the gloss or the off white, but surprisingly I LOVE it… A LOT.  The shine shows off the texture better than a matte color would.

So there you have it…for now!  There will be many, many more posts about our nursery, seeing as it is our favorite room in the house!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

Leave a Reply

