The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Toddler Room

7 Comments

Okay, so what I think is going to happen as far as our room arrangements in the Stacy household is: if we get a baby we will put a crib in our bedroom, if we get toddler’s they will go in the nursery, and then we have a guest bedroom which will end up being the “boy room”.  Eventually when we get settled and have adopted or bio babies we will have a boy and girl room.  For now it is just easier to put both the “toddlers” in the same room (the girl room).  This is assuming we get two toddlers.  It will be ready for two, but if we get one toddler and a baby, the baby will be in our room.  Okay, none of that really matters.  It just tells you that there will be a lot of adjusting!  Today I’m going to show you tiny glimpses of the Toddler Room.  Currently it is a nasty pink.  It will eventually be a VERY pale aqua.  We still have to get some sheet rock work done and the ceilings textured before we can paint.  Old houses tend to have cracks around the windows and on the ceilings.  Don’t worry, it’s not structural, it’s just the old tape and plaster cracking.  The guy that usually does ours (bec/ texturing ceilings and hanging sheet rock is way beyond our DIY skills) has recently had surgery and is out for 3 more weeks.

In the toddler/girl room I’m going more for a shabby, vintage, soft look vs. the guest/boy room which will be very modern and geometrical.  Okay, here is bed #1, the girl bed.  If we get two boys we will just throw on some boyish pillows.

Two of the pillows are completed, but I need another insert to finish the last.  I placed the fabric up there so you could see it.  Sorry about the wrinkled duvet, I still haven’t found my iron. 🙂  I made two twin comforters out of an old double size down comforter.  Probably a super dumb idea because it looked like some teenie boppers had just had a massive pillow fight in our living room.   I also broke a sewing needle trying to sew through the down. 😦  Oh well, I just replaced it and kept on peddling.  I had to make covers for the comforters 1. because they didn’t look so pretty 2. because kids are going to get junk on them.  I just cut up some old white sheets I had lying around.  At the bottom of each one I sewed it together 12 inches on both sides, then I hand sewed buttons of choice for the rest of the opening.  I don’t have any white ribbon, but next time I make a run to town i’ll pick some up and then sew loops on the opposite sides of the buttons.  I’ll put up pics so you can see what I’m talking about.

Knitted bear, made by yours truly.

The pillows are made of vintage sheets and pillow cases.  Here are some shots.

I already had the pillow form, I just cut a sheet to fit it and then slipped it over.

Jeff is going to build a bookcase/bench to go under the window in the room.  I recovered a cushion to go on top.  Fabric from Ikea.

Over the past few months I’ve been collecting vintage toys to display in the bedroom over the dresser/changing table (I’ve yet to find an affordable one).  Here’s what I’ve got.

I was able to score an old suitcase at a yard sale for a dollar.  I thought it’d be a cute idea to store it under one of the beds for extra storage (toys or clothes).

Can you feel the “vibe” of the room yet?  It’s not much, but maybe it gives you a glimpse of what I’m going for!

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

7 thoughts on “Toddler Room

  1. so exciting to be getting the room together!!

  2. Can i move in??!!! LOL i just LOVE the vintage look and feel of the room!…great job =)

  3. thanks! yeah, i will be more excited when i can get the room painted and the curtains hung! i think it will be pretty cute when it’s finished. i am excited! 🙂

  4. The suitcase is a wonderful idea, it looks just like one I threw away when I moved in my new house. To go alittle furture with that idea, why not get a suitcase to keep, under the bed and out of the way, for the current child, several sets of clothes, a stuff animal of some kind and special things for that one child in case, for any reason there is an emergency. Perhapes, having to take that child to the ER or if the child gets a forever home, other than yours. This way, it will be ready and you dont have to “think” of what that child may need or want!(Especially put an extra passify that the child may use or an extra bottle) Of course, each suitcase will be different as every child is different! Good luck and God Speed on your new and very wonderful way of life! Love you both!

  5. what color are you planning to paint the walls???

  6. a very light aqua, with white trim. the curtains will be white with a vintage looking fabric on the bottom with yellow and orange.

Leave a Reply

