The Stacy Chronicles

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

How to Make a Stencil

2 Comments

I’ve never done this before, so if you have any tips or if I’m doing it completely wrong, please share.

As most of you know I am super cheap. Call it frugal if it makes you feel nicer, but I’m not afraid to say cheap. I read online where you could just print your image on transparency paper. Not only am I cheap but I’m pretty impatient too. I couldn’t wait for transparency paper! So here is what I did.

Step 1: Find an image, save to computer, then print. (Bonus, three steps in “step one”).

Step 2: Find an old binder with the clear plastic on it (these have a name, but I’m drawing a blank). Also, you can skip this part and just print your image on a transparency, if you have one.

Step 3: Slide your image under the plastic and trace with a sharper. After you trace you will need to cut the whole piece of plastic off the binder.

See image below:

stencil 006

Step 4: Get out your exacto knife and cutting mat. (seriously how have you survived this long without one)?

stencil 013

Step 5: Take the exacto knife and cut out all the images you just traced. (This was my first time using an exacto knife and I did a poor job, but obviously you don’t have to be perfect for nice results).

stencil 021

Step 6: Congratulations! You have made a stencil. What do you do now you may ask….paint, silly!

stencil 027

Step 7: You place the plastic on top of fabric, wood, whatever you want to paint, then apply paint with a sponge brush.

Stay tuned to see what I am making with my stencil.

Cheers!

Author: Jeff & Meg

This is a story of two lovebirds who got in a little over their heads, or at times it feels that way, remodeling a little home built in the 1940's. Our journey has bumps and twists, ups and downs, but we wouldn't have it any other way! Please join us and our two poodles as we flip this old house and work towards the adoption of our first child!

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Stencil

  1. Crafty girl! I like that pattern!

  2. thanks girly! i love it.

Leave a Reply

